In Oklahoma, DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence, while DWI stands for Driving While Impaired. Read further for a brief explanation of the difference between the two and for a general explanation of DUI charges in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.
DUI Charges in Oklahoma City
In Oklahoma, like all other states of the country, it is illegal to drive after consuming alcohol or other controlled substances in an amount great enough to impair your ability to drive safely.
Your first DUI offense will be charged as a misdemeanor and it is punishable by as much as a year in jail and a fine of up to $1000.
In addition, driving on Oklahoma roads implies consent to have your blood alcohol content tested by the police. If you refuse, you will be subject to an automatic suspension of your license to drive.
Refusing to have your blood alcohol content tested is punishable by a six-month suspension for a first offense, a one-year suspension for a 2nd offense and a three-year suspension for a third.
DUI, Aggravated DUI and DWI In Oklahoma City
In Oklahoma , the differences between a DUI, an Aggravated DUI or a DWI is actually a matter of how high your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at the time you are tested. If you are over 21 and you get pulled over after drinking and driving, you can, and probably will, be charged with DUI if you show signs of mental impairment or if your tested BAC is above .08.
If your BAC is .15 or higher, you can be charged with Aggravated DUI, which carries much stiffer penalties than a simple DUI. On the other hand, if your BAC is below .08 but above .05, you can be charged with DWI, a less serious offense.
Another difference between Aggravated DUI , DWI and DUI charges in Oklahoma City is the seriousness of the penalties you will receive if convicted. Although all three charges will get your driver’s license revoked, a DWI charge receives shorter revocation periods than for DUI and Aggravated DUI: 30 days for the first offense, 6 months for the second offense and 1 year for the third offense for DWI; as opposed to 6 months, 1 year and 3 years respectively for a DUI and Aggravated DUI (which will also be subject to additional penalties).
Oklahoma’s Zero Tolerance for Under-aged Drinking and Driving
Oklahoma also has a “zero-tolerance” policy in regards to those who are under the legal drinking age and are caught driving with alcohol in their system. Since it’s forbidden for you to drink, period, it’s forbidden for you to drive after drinking any amount of alcohol.
If you are under the legal drinking age of 21 and have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, even if you are not impaired, you can be charged with DUI Under 21. Furthermore, you can still be charged with a regular DUI if your BAC is above .08. The choice is left up to the arresting officer.
The laws are even more strict if you are under the age of 18 and are arrested for any alcohol-related offense. Even if you were merely in possession of alcohol and but not driving at the time, your license to drive could be revoked for a period of 6 months and up to 2 years, depending on the circumstances of your DUI charges in Oklahoma City and your juvenile record.
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City DUI Attorney
For a free consultation with an Oklahoma City DUI attorney call the Wirth Law Office- Oklahoma City attorney at (405) 888-5400. You can also submit an email question from the top right corner of this page. We will respond as quickly as possible to all questions.