Oklahoma has recently revised many of its drug laws, making them more lenient, especially simple possession of controlled dangerous substances. But possession of drug paraphernalia in Oklahoma City is still a crime. And it is often charged. Here is what you need to know about the crime and how it is handled in Oklahoma.
What is Drug Paraphernalia?
Drug paraphernalia includes all of the items that typically accompany the manufacturing, growing, and use of drugs. For example, rolling papers, crack pipes, and needles are all examples of drug paraphernalia, but so are scales, baggies, and items usually used to grow or compound drugs.
Possession of drug paraphernalia can be charged in addition to possession of a drug. This happens most often when a person is caught both with a drug and the paraphernalia in their possession.
And although medical marijuana is legal now in Oklahoma, because caught with rolling papers if you do not have a medical marijuana license means that you can be charged with possession of drug paraphernalia.
The crime is usually charged as a misdemeanor in Oklahoma City. However, if a person 18 years or older delivers or sells drug paraphernalia to a person under the age of 18, the crime is then chargeable as a felony.
So, if a college student shares rolling papers with a high school buddy under the age of 18, that college student can be charged with a felony. A felony conviction means prison time and the conviction stays on your record.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia Defined
Oklahoma law prohibits the use, sale, possession, and delivery of drug paraphernalia knowing or under circumstances where one should reasonably know that it will be used to plant, propagate, manufacture, compound, prepare, test, store, contain, inject, conceal, inhale, or introduce a controlled dangerous substance into the human body. Okla. Stat. tit. 63 § 2-405
The crime is usually a misdemeanor in Oklahoma City. The first offense carries a penalty of up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. A second offense can mean up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $5,000, or both. A third conviction can add fines of up to $10,000 to a year in jail.
While a misdemeanor may not sound serious, any time jail is an issue, the matter should be taken seriously. A year in jail is a long time. Get the help you need. Call our Oklahoma City attorney today at 405-888-5400.
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City Criminal Defense Attorney
Our lawyer is well positioned to advise you accordingly, as he has the necessary training and experience. He has the wit and tenacity to match the skill of the Oklahoma City prosecutors.
For a free consultation with an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney, call Wirth Law Office – Oklahoma City at 405-888-5400.
You can also submit an email question from the top right corner of this page. We will respond to all questions as soon as possible.