In Oklahoma, it is against the law to drive without a valid license. We all know that — yet, we are married to our cars. We use them daily to pick up kids and groceries, and to drive to work and home again. Sometimes, we take road trips when we want to get away from the daily grind. But driving under suspension or revocation in Oklahoma City is against the law.
It can be easy to forget that a driver’s license is a privilege, not a right. But when a license is suspended or revoked and you continue to drive, it is only a matter of time before you get pulled over by a police officer. It could be a broken taillight or a yellow light that turns to red before you expect it — but sooner or later, you could face trouble in Oklahoma.
Suspended And Revoked Licenses: How They Happen
A license suspension is temporary. A license revocation is much more serious.
With a revocation, your license is taken away permanently. You must apply for a new license after the revocation period has passed. Also, the revocation stays on your record.
Oklahoma law provides for license suspension and revocation in a number of situations. A DUI will certainly result in a loss of driving privileges, but so will a refusal to submit to a breath or blood test while driving if it is requested by a police officer. The loss of driving privileges can last from six months to three years.
Suspensions also occur as a result of excessive points on your license. Any traffic infraction that results in points can add up to excessive points. If you get 10 or more points within a 5-year period, your license will be suspended.
Likewise, leaving the scene of an accident will also result in an automatic suspension.
Certain convictions will also result in suspensions and revocations: a drug conviction, using your car during the commission of a felony, manslaughter or negligent homicide, or stealing gasoline from a pump. Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-205
Penalties For Driving Under Suspension Or Revocation In Oklahoma City
The crime is a misdemeanor in Oklahoma City.
You may face fines, up to a year of jail time, or both. Fines escalate with repeated convictions.
You could face:
- a fine from $100 to $500 on a first conviction;
- a fine from $200 to $750 on a second conviction;
- or a fine from $300 to $1,000 for subsequent convictions.
Okla. Stat. tit. 47 § 6-303
The fines are higher if you are caught driving on a license suspended as a result of a DUI conviction. In addition to facing up to a year in jail, you could face:
- $500 to $1,000 for a first offense;
- $1,000 to $2,000 for a second offense;
- and between $2,000 and $5,000 for any subsequent convictions.
If you have been caught driving on a suspended or revoked license, hire an experienced Oklahoma City attorney to help. An attorney can lessen the fine, get a hearing on the suspension, obtain a modified driver’s license for the suspension period, help get your license back at the end of the suspension period, and avoid jail time.
Do yourself a favor and call for help today.
Free Consultation: Oklahoma City Criminal Defense Attorney
Our lawyer is well positioned to advise you accordingly, as he has the necessary training and experience. He has the wit and tenacity to match the skill of the Oklahoma City prosecutors.
For a free consultation with an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney, call Wirth Law Office – Oklahoma City at 405-888-5400.
You can also submit an email question from the top right corner of this page. We will respond to all questions as soon as possible.